Change your mind ~ change your body

The thought corner with Saerwen: Ice Hockey

Since this has been a lot on the plate lately I decided to make my opinions clear.

Source: click the image

As anybody who knows even a bit about me knows that I adore WC games and Olympic hockey games. Lately my opinions about the great big hockey countries have made some people start arguing with me about the topic. Let me get this straight: YES, I’ve said that I have this kind-of-sort-of hatred towards Canada and US hockey teams. Why? Well, I can say now that maybe hatred is a bit too harsh word. I do have huge amount of respect for both countries and their input to this marvelous game, but when it comes to international stage of hockey I can’t help but wonder why they are treated differently? I mean, in Olympic games there are rule that in very Canada and US games there must be a NHL referee no matter referee’s nationality. I actually do get this and understand it, no problem. But still, I find it a bit controversy that you can have Canadian head referee in Canadian’s game… Or likewise with US. Is that really equality when it comes to other European countries? I mean if that’s the case then why can’t there be a Russian referee at Russian’s games? Yes, they are professional and blaablaa but I have to wonder can you really put all that aside if you have at least that ichi bitchy intrest in hockey?

I also won’t be afraid to tell that how I see things. In this game winning is the only thing that counts but if the loosing team played better in my mind or in paper or fight well I will state it. Absolutely. It’s need to be said even though they loose and it’s not about being a bad looser, it’s about stating the facts and saying “Yes we lost but we did do some good things”. As a Finn I hear way too often how our own people disminish our wins and try to find reasons for why we lost. “Omg we didn’t have that good goalie so that’s the reason why we lost”… Usually it ain’t just one thing why you loose. You just simply didn’t do better and/or didn’t have that little bit of luck that is absolutely needed in these games in my mind.

And the other thing: All the big countries trash talk about WC games when they don’t exceed in them. Because there ain’t all the best players and blaablaa.Then they suddenly say that U20 WC games are WAYYY important. So all I wanna say here is that: shut the eff up and be humble! My country’s like “arch enemy” is Sweden and I get a bit horrified every year how great scale that trash talk can get during the WC games of ice hockey. I think the same thing goes around with USA and Canada. It’s insane! Nope. I’m not saying that there shouldn’t be this at all – To a certain mount it’s good and it needs to be there to make the games more interesting, but c’mon…

Source: click the image

It should always be an honor and priviledge to be playing for your country, no matter if the stage is WC games or Olympics. And there are no easy nations in the field of ice hockey these days. For example look at Switzerland – great game at WC 2013 and they almost won gold! Way to go! OR how Slovenia beat Slovakia in Olympics this year. I think the diversity in everything is beautiful. Not all like or should like roses, since lilies are as equally beautiful flower. And we should respect the others even though the healthy amount of nationalism in hockey is always at its place.

 

MariaSaerwen

Leave a comment