Change your mind ~ change your body

Image

My Christmas 2012

“I want to go and help with cutting that Christmas tree!”
“No you won’t mister!”

“I just stand here and look important while you do your work, okey?”

“Well hello sexy!”

MODDSC_0325

MODDSC_0331

This picture is one of the most traditional Finnish TV show at the Christmas morning. It’s called “Joulupukin Kuumalinja” wildly translated as “Santa Claus’ hotline” where little kids can call and talk to Santa. I’m still watching this every Christmas mornings.

MODDSC_0348

Some Finns – including my family – has also tradition to go to cemetery to remember our past loved ones at Christmas eve with candles. It is really beautiful place when the whole cemetery kind of became this altar of thousands and thousands of candles.

MODDSC_0385

And so that no one won’t have any cravings after this, here’s some of our traditional Christmas foods:

As many of these foods don’t have a good English word I’m gonna somehow translate them and tell you guys what’s in them.

Karelian pastys are this type of bread we usually eat with our Karelian stew or just by itself like a any normal bread. They are made from rye pastry and rice.

Christmas ham. Mmmmm

This dish is called Karelian hot pot, but I think stew is better. The ultimate right Karelian stew is made of two different meats: pork and beef meat, with lots of onion and other herbs. Delicious!

Liver casseroles and carrot casseroles are my favorite casseroles of the Christmas table. There are also potato and swede/rutabaga casseroles but I don’t really like them…

Got a hot chocolate mug from Santa ♥

That’s about it guys. Hopefully you enjoyed my Christmas through pictures!

Maria Saerwen

4 responses

  1. I miss the Finnish carrot-casseroles for christmas. I had a finnish girlfriend for a few years, and so got to celebrate the Suomi way. Where in Finland do you live ?

    17.1.2013 at 13:40

    • Maria Saerwen

      It is really good right?! : D I live in Eastern Finland, close to Kuopio and Mikkeli. : ) Where did your gf lived?

      17.1.2013 at 16:14

      • My girlfriend was Sini, from Helsinki. However, I did get opportunity to visit eastern Finland as well, because she had a honorary grandmother living in the woods, not far from Mikkeli, infact. Ultimately, me and Sini didn’t work out, and these days we’re both happily married (not to each other!), but we’re still good friends, and I’ll always have fond memories of Finland.

        17.1.2013 at 16:17

      • Maria Saerwen

        Okey cool! : ) Glad to hear

        17.1.2013 at 16:25

Leave a Reply

